Jason Weiss

Miles Lowell and Margaret Watt Edwards Distinguished Chair in Engineering

Oregon State University

Jason Weiss is the Miles Lowell and Margaret Watt Edwards Distinguished Chair in Engineering and the Director of the Kiewit Center for Infrastructure and Transportation Research. Before joining Oregon State as the head of the school of civil and construction engineering he was a faculty member at Purdue University for 16 years where he held the position of the Jack and Kay Hockema Professor of Civil Engineering and Director of the Pankow Materials Laboratory. He earned a B.A.E. from the Pennsylvania State University and a MS and PhD from Northwestern University in 1997 and 1999 respectively. He is actively involved in research on cement and concrete materials specifically focused on early age property development, cracking, transport in concrete, and concrete durability. Specifically, he is known for research his group has performed in the areas of shrinkage and cracking reduction, the use of the ring and dual ring test, use of electrical resistivity and the formation factor, use of internally cured concrete, and concrete pavement durability.
Dr. Weiss has taught courses in civil engineering materials, concrete materials, service life, repair and non-destructive testing. His primary research interests are in the area of early age shrinkage cracking and mitigation as well as service life sensing and prediction.
Dr. Weiss is a member of the American Concrete Institute (Past Chair of ACI 123), American Society of Civil Engineers, RILEM (Bureau Member, Past TAC member, TC CCD chair), Transportation Research Board (AFN 040 Chair), and American Society for Testing and Materials. He is the editor of the ASTM journal Advances in Civil Engineering Materials, is past editor in chief of the RILEM Materials and Structures Journal and is a member of the editorial board of Cement and Concrete Research.
Dr. Weiss has authored over 350 publications with over 165 peer-reviewed journal articles. He is a recipient of the NSF Career Award, the RILEM L'Hermite Medal, the ACI W. P. Moore, ACI Young Member, and ACI Wason Awards, the ESCSI Erskine Award, the TRB Burgraff and Mather Awards for outstanding research and publications, and the ASCE Huber Award. He is a fellow of ACI and is also the recipient of the Wansik, Munson, Buck, and Burke awards for outstanding teaching/advising in the school of civil engineering, has received the Potter award for outstanding teaching in the college of engineering, has received the university Murphy award for undergraduate teaching, and has been inducted into the Purdue Teaching Academy.